Holy Trinity Catholic Church - Bandon, OR

    St. John the Baptist Catholic Mission - Port Orford, OR   


The Rosary

About the Rosary
The rosary itself is a string of beads, each of which marks the recitation of a particular prayer. There are fifteen groups of ten Hail Marys that form the central part of the rosary. Each decade of the rosary focuses on a mystery or event in the life of Jesus and Mary. The mysteries are grouped into four groups of five each to commemorate the joyful, sorrowful, and glorious events in the life of Jesus and Mary. Here are the 20 mysteries of the rosary:


The Joyful Mysteries (Mondays & Saturdays)

  1. The messenger of God announces to Mary that she is to be the Mother of God Luke 1:26-38. (Humility)
  2. Mary visits and helps her cousin Elizabeth Luke 1:39-56. (Love of Neighbor)
  3. Mary gives birth to Jesus in a stable in Bethlehem Luke 2: 1-21. (Spirit of Poverty)
  4. Jesus is presented in the Temple Luke 2:22-38. (Obedience to God's Will)
  5. Jesus is found in the Temple Luke 2:41-52. (Fidelity to Vocation)

The Sorrowful Mysteries (Tuesdays & Fridays)

  1. Jesus undergoes his agony in the Garden of Gethsemane Matthew 26:36-56. (Spirit of Prayer)
  2. Jesus is scourged at the pillar Matthew 27:26. (Modesty and Purity)
  3. Jesus is crowned with thorns Matthew 27:27-31. (Courage)
  4. Jesus carries the cross to Calvary John 19:12-16. (Patience in Suffering)
  5. The Crucifixion, Jesus dies on the cross for our sins Matthew 27:33-51. (Self-denial)

The Glorious Mysteries (Wednesdays & Sundays)

  1. The Resurrection, Jesus rises from the dead John 20:1-29. (Faith)
  2. Jesus ascends into heaven Luke 24:50-53. (Hope)
  3. Pentecost, The Holy Spirit descends on the Disciples Acts 2:1-41. (Wisdom, Love, Zeal, Fortitude)
  4. The Assumption, Mary, Mother of Jesus, is taken into heaven Revelation 12:1-6. (Eternal Happiness)
  5. Mary is crowned queen of heaven and earth 2Timothy 4:8. (Final Perseverance & Our Future Hope)

The Luminous Mysteries (Thursdays)

  1. The baptism of the Lord Matthew 3:13-17. (self-sacrifice)
  2. The wedding of Cana John 2:1-11. (passionate, bountiful love)
  3. The proclamation of the Kingdom of God - his public ministry Mark 1:14-15. (mission or evangelization)
  4. The transfiguration of Jesus Matthew 17:1-8. (hope)
  5. The Institution of the Eucharist - last supper Luke 22:19-20 & John 6:41-58. (Thankgiving, Forgiveness, Eternal Life in Communion)

The person begins to pray the rosary by making the sign of the cross. Then the Apostles' Creed is said while holding the crucifix attached to the rosary. One Our Father, three Hail Marys, and a Glory Be follow. Then the person announces and reflects on the first mystery, says an Our Father, ten Hail Marys and a Glory Be. This completes one decade of the rosary. All other decades are said in the same way, with a different mystery announced and reflected on during each.

The main prayers of the rosary can be found on the Prayers page of this web site. 

Contact Us
The Rosary
Examination of Conscience
7 Sacraments
Father George's Homilies
Holy Trinity Home
St. John's Home