"In the Archdiocese of Portland, communion under the species of the Precious Blood is permitted, according to the pastoral judgement and discretion of the pastor, in the following cases:"
To those whose gluten intolerance or wheat allergy is so severe that they cannot receive communion using a low gluten host. To the bride and the bridegroom at their nuptial Mass. To adults baptised at the Easter Vigil, or at the Mass following their baptism if not at the Easter Vigil. To those receiving First Holy Communion provided any risk of profanation is eliminated. To the newly confirmed at the Mass of their confirmation. To baptised persons newly received into the full communion of the Catholic Church. To small groups making retreats, in a Mass celebrated especially for those actually participating; to those taking part in the meeting of some pastoral commission, at the Mass which they celebrate in common.